Month: November 2016

  • Review of Cast No Shadows from Curiosity Quills

    Cast No Shadows

    Cast No Shadows book cover

    Cast No Shadows

    Welcome to the shadowed woods, where the trees breathe with ghosts and the wind whispers of the past.

    Twenty-six authors take you through haunted houses and cemeteries with tales that will chill.

    Beware the dark, for the spirits await you.

    Review

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.

    Honestly, when I first finished reading the stories, I was going to rate the book lower. The stories are, well, sort of pedestrian. Most are the sort of stories that kids tell around campfires where characters are introduced, something happens, and BAM, ghosts, the end. They're not badly written, and I don't remember encountering any spelling, grammar, or formatting errors, but they like any real punch. There's nothing terribly clever about them. So, I contacted the person at Curiosity Quills, and asked her the target audience, which is apparently young adults. That was enough for me to be a bit more lenient. I used to read those Scholastic anthologies back in elementary school. The material here feel like it's going towards more of a teen route, so I don't know if I'd hand these off to someone in primary school, but the quality made more sense with the info on the designated target audience.

    So, long story short, it's an OK book. I don't regret reading it. It's just not great. Three stars out of five.