November 7, 2007

  • Arm "Burn" Gone

    For anyone who was worried by the last entry, the sensation is gone. *shrug* I guess it was something transient after all. Life is overall Ok. I'm still passing all of my classes, still learning despite all of the barriers that Universities impose ^_^. I think I may have to drop my Jujutsu class. I joined partly because my brother was helping to run the class and partly because I like the idea of a grappling style. When I joined, I managed to negotiate dues down to $15 a month from $30, begging for leniency due to massive college debt. Well, the club has been told they can't offer reduced dues for any reason for fear that some form of preference or discrimination might be shown by making one person pay more or less than another. Furthermore, the school which our instructor comes from has decided that all members must also pay a $50 annual fee to learn the style (this also allows one to attend classes in the style elsewhere and pay less for their seminars). It's not a horrible price in either case (The Bujinkan style that I studied for a little while in Dayton asked for $200 for a lifetime membership) but I may only be in town for another month and a half depending on how my job prospects turn out and, well, I am a poor graduate student and am therefore trying to cut costs. Therefore, I think I'll just keep attending the (free) Capoeira classes and spend the time when I would be doing Jujutsu instead doing some other form of exercise. *wrinkles nose* I feel so awkward doing Capoeira though. I'm used to moving with style and grace, but here I'm halting and I keep falling back on fighting techniques from prior styles which just don't integrate well. Eh, but maybe I'll do better with more practice.

    Oh, incidentally, I did manage to transfer the extra pictures I took of my costume. You can find them in my "photoblog" section. Fair warning, it's still me crossdressing and these other ones are lower quality (I somewhat regret this... originally, I planned to visit Bev and have her take photos, but my neighbor, who has a bad back, asked me to help her with something. Once I got there, she insisted on my getting out of costume first, saying that it reminded her of how she met her ex-husband [something Rocky Horror based I'm told]. I took those pictures hurridly, changed, and came over. And... she decided that she wasn't up to doing the task she'd asked me over for which was apparently buying kitty litter... *grumble*). Unless I feel like suiting up again, there will not be any better pictures forthcoming. Not that I mind wearing the costume, but the makeup was a bit of a pain and then, of course, I'd have to find someone willing to take the pictures for me since using the timer on my camera didn't do so well. Meh, life.